MediaBizTech

Robert Freeman's whole Media, Business and Technology thing. Sorted.

I’m at CES this year

leave a comment »

It’s the biggest consumer electronics exhibition in the world and it starts in Las Vegas on Monday.

I’ve been to several other events in Las Vegas, but this will be my first CES, a little daunting, but I was very relieved to read John C. Dvorak‘s post, which puts some of it into perspective.

There is an alternative buzzword floating around called Tech Home that will be highlighted at the show too. This sort of stuff gets a lot of TV play since reporters can actually identify objects and know what they are. “Hey, look! A couch!”

It’s funny because it’s true and what’s worse, I’ve probably done it at some time in my career!

Dear reader, please don’t expect minute-by-minute posts from me at the event. I have thought about it but have decided against it for two reasons :

  • There are 1400-odd journos there. There’ll be no shortage of blog coverage.
  • I’ll be working umpteen hours a day with the BBC news team, and I really don’t think I’ll have the time!

That’s not to say I won’t be posting at all, but like most of the info you see here, I’ll probably wait and think and give a considered view later on. Mediabiztech is not a 24 hour news channel.

Written by Robert

6 January, 2007 at 1:44 am

Posted in General

Leave a Reply

