MediaBizTech

Robert Freeman's whole Media, Business and Technology thing. Sorted.

Truly viral – Simpsons avatar generator

with 4 comments

I’m surprised and amused over the number of people I know on Facebook who have replaced their profile pictures with a custom Simpsons avatar.

It’s a brilliant gimmick to publicise the upcoming Simpsons film, and you can get one by following this link.

The show’s been on for over a decade and remains popular all over the world, we ‘get it’ because we’re all drawing on that shared experience. I don’t know anyone who hasn’t watched The Simpsons at some point.

But I wonder if we’re the last generation who are able to do this on such a scale. Given the fragmentation of audiences, is there less likelihood of a critical mass of people to give a viral campaign like this enough scale, for it to mean enough, to enough of the population to make them want to participate?

In the meantime, I haven’t yet changed my profile picture to a cartoon me yet, but I still might.

My Simpsons avatar

Written by Robert

5 July, 2007 at 12:02 pm

Posted in Fun, General

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. To Robert Freeman,

    As a contributor to nowpublic.com I am writing on the culminating ‘virality’ of the whole Simpson show, converging from the TV shows the film and the Simpsons avatar generator, into a cultural pandemia.

    shlomo korzac

    31 July, 2007 at 9:32 am

  2. Oh please,
    The Simpsons is hardly a pandemic.
    There are several shows that have been made into movies including everything from harmless things such as Sponge Bob Square Pants to more inapropriate things such as Aqua Teen Hunger Force. All of which have been just as popular. In the words of the 14-year-old I am,

    Stop eatin’ them hater tots.

    Claire

    22 June, 2008 at 3:16 am

  3. […] Truly viral – Simpsons avatar generator « MediaBizTech I’m surprised and amused over the number of people I know on Facebook who have replaced their profile pictures with a custom Simpsons avatar. It’s a brilliant gimmick to publicise the upcoming Simpsons film, and you can … https://mediabiztech.wordpress.com/ […]

    • After “Simpsonize me” it no longer available to create your own version of Simpson character, I searched the web for a similar web that could do the same, but I didn’t find anything.Suddenly unexpected, I learned that I can create my Simpson avatar at “The Simpsons Movie” official website.
      If you need a help to How to simpsonize yourself, go to http://www.simpsonize.me/how-create-simpsons-avatar/

      homer

      25 November, 2012 at 10:44 pm


Leave a Reply

